• Playbook🏀
  • Posts
  • 🏀 #1 thing every NBA Player Struggles With

🏀 #1 thing every NBA Player Struggles With

🧠 Be a monk

Hello! Ok tell me this, How did Trae Young not make the all-star game? Dude is averaging 27 points and 11 assist. Anyways being a dad is the best. I don’t know why I had to say that but I really enjoy being dad. I am writing this from Istanbul, Türkiye.

Basketball Tip 🏀

Our whole life, we are conditioned to care about what people think about us, especially if they are able to offer something that we value. For example: When you are in school, you care about what your teacher thinks because she can pass or fail you.

Another example: you care about what your coach thinks in high school because he can determine if you play at the next level. We are so worried about what someone thinks of us that we can’t even focus on what we need to do to improve.

One of my favorite examples was when I entered the NBA. Everyone had Gucci bags and designer stuff. For one second, I told myself I needed that because I'm an NBA player and I want everyone to know. So, I was attempting to seek approval from my peers to feel like I was in the 'Cool' group of NBA players.

I didn’t fall into the trap ⬇️⬇️⬇️

Here is what I would say: Focus on what really matters. For me, that is your:

faith
family
real friends
work that serves.

What is faith? Faith does not have to be a religion; it's more about the idea that you understand that the world doesn’t revolve around you. You can see the world from a bird's-eye view.

What is family? Family are the closest people around you whom you trust.

What are real friends? Real friends are friends whom you care about and who will tell you the truth even if it hurts, and they never want anything in return. You can have real friends that you only talk to once in a while, but it’s genuine conversation about real things in life, not gossip.

What is work that serves? Work that serves is doing work that makes the world a better place because when you do that, you will find purpose in your life.

I have grown to understand why someone would want to be a middle school teacher because you will make a real impact on the world through each student you nurture.

It’s not always about the money. You can be rich but mentally poor.

Why are monks some of the happiest people in the world?

They focus on things that matter and things they can control.

So when it comes to applying this to your basketball development, stop caring what other people think. I say this as a six-year professional who has had to constantly work on it over time. Some days are better than others, but the key is to just do a little bit every day. Consistency.

If you have specific questions or things that have happened and you are willing to share, please put them in the comments so we can have a discussion."

Weekly Challenge 🔨

This week, every time something comes up that frustrates you, ask yourself: Do I have control over this? If not, let it go. If you do, then do something productive about it. Sounds easy right? Let me know how it goes in the comments.

Q&A ❓

What do you think about Mamba Mentality Mindset? 🐍

From Marin Krstevski via Instagram

Kobe did not have all the skills when he first started basketball. What he did have is his work ethic. I mean if you break down what he did, it’s pretty simple. I am going to work out more than you therefore I will eventually catch you even if you have more skill right now. Kobe talked about it in this podcast. In order to fulfill your potential you will have to work and do the things that other people don’t want to do. Again that is why only 450 players play in the NBA. Develop your Mamba Mentality!

Thank you for grabbing your playbook 🙏

We look forward to seeing you next week, unless you don’t want more confidence. 🤔

Free resources available

Reply

or to participate.