🏀Anxiety before your games?

Stop stressing and breathe

Hello! Do you experience anxiety before your basketball games? Don’t worry, I do too. I’m Elijah Bryant, and I’ve had the privilege of winning both an NBA and Euroleague Championship. If you stick around until the end, I’ll share a few tips that have helped me, and I hope they’ll be beneficial for you too.

Basketball Tip 🏀

Anxiety before games is entirely normal; it's a part of life. It stems from the fear that our reality might not align with our expectations. Many times, this anxiety arises from stories we create in our heads, like feeling the need to score 30 points or stressing over free throws.

Let me assure you, whether or not these scenarios unfold, it will be okay. Remember, you're playing a game – win or lose, you'll still go home and sleep in your bed.

It's easy to get too caught up in results and overlook the process. Trusting the process and letting go of immediate outcomes can lead to positive changes over time.

Now, let me share my steps for managing anxiety before basketball games:

1. Stick to the same routine leading up to the game.
2. Focus on what I can control.
3. Listen to the same music playlist.
4. Read a book.
5. Stay hydrated with water and electrolytes.
6. Follow the same stretching routine.

Everything I do is to put my mind and body on autopilot, facilitating better decision-making during the game.

My routine, down to specific details like having three pancakes with banana before the game, helps me stay focused on the task at hand (the game).

If something is off and beyond my control, I move forward.

Responding to texts or browsing Instagram during this time is not my focus – I concentrate only on what I can control.

And don't forget to breathe; after all, you're a living being

If you want more insight on what it means to be task driven, check out this video below ⬇️⬇️⬇️

Weekly Challenge 🔨

I encourage you to center your attention on your breath whenever you sense anxiety creeping in before a practice or a game. Take a moment to count twenty breaths.

This simple practice can help calm your mind and ground you in the present moment, allowing you to approach the upcoming challenge with a clearer and more composed mindset.

Trust in your ability to navigate through any nervousness and focus on your breath as a source of stability. Try it now!

Q&A âť“

How do you DECREASE anxiety right before tip off?

One of the most important messages I impart to my younger players is to treasure the present moment. Take a deep breath and immerse yourself fully in it.

Recognize the immense gratitude for finding yourself precisely where you are, as it's a singular experience that won't recur. Instead of dwelling on your current position, reflect on the journey that brought you here.

I'd be less than truthful if I denied feeling butterflies đź¦‹ before tip-off, particularly when starting, but it's entirely natural.

Just breathe and have faith in your abilities. If you've diligently prepared for this moment, there's no need for anxiety. It's time to relax and let your skills shine!

Remember, mistakes are an integral part of the journey; embrace them and concentrate on the next play. Treat yourself with kindness and offer words of encouragement. You've got this, I assure you! đź’™

Thank you for grabbing your playbook 🙏

We look forward to seeing you next week, unless you don’t want more confidence. 🤔

Free resources available

Reply

or to participate.