🏀Playbook: Elijah's Story

Zero College Offers to NBA Champions

Playbook: Elijah’s Story

Here is my story that I have never actually shared so here you go:

Growing up, basketball was my entire world. I possessed talent, but my mother was unaware of it until I started playing against older kids at the local YMCA. Being naturally skilled, I didn't fully comprehend the importance of hard work. I carried my basketball with me everywhere, even in unconventional places like the mall or the grocery store. My mother encouraged me to keep dribbling, disregarding anyone who told me to stop. Her no-nonsense attitude played a significant role in shaping who I am today.

After spending a few years at the YMCA, we began attending various basketball camps, including James Banks' camp, where he suggested I should play in AAU (Amateur Athletic Union) or travel basketball. Initially, we had no idea what that meant, but we recognized the need for tougher competition. Mr. Banks directed us to try out for teams like the Smyrna Stars, Atlanta Celtics, and Georgia Stars. Upon witnessing a Celtics game, I was astounded by the intensity and physicality. It felt like a blend of track racing and football, unlike anything I had experienced before. Although I wondered if I was ready for this at the tender age of eight, I knew that choosing the more challenging team was the right decision. Thus, my mom enrolled me in the Atlanta Celtics, led by the legendary coach Tommy Slaughter. This team operated in the inner city of Atlanta, where my mom and I were the only Caucasian individuals. It was an uncomfortable environment for me, given my privileged suburban background. However, it was precisely the discomfort I needed to push myself out of my comfort zone and foster personal growth. Our daily commute to and from practice was a two-hour journey, and while I may not have played much initially, my mom understood what was best for my development and made significant sacrifices.

Fast forward six years, and I had moved on from playing with Tommy. I joined a smaller team where I could be the primary option and make more mistakes, understanding that failure is an integral part of the learning process. The great players weren't inherently better than me; they simply learned from their failures more effectively. Joining Team Atlanta proved instrumental in showcasing my abilities. Playing for Tommy's teams instilled me with a sense of pride and an unwavering determination. His coaching methods were unparalleled, involving constant yelling and profanity even at the age of eight. Upon entering high school, I remained one of the smallest players on the court. In my freshman year, I changed schools and opted for Mill Creek High School, the largest high school in Georgia.

On my first day, I felt a mix of nervousness and unfamiliarity as I navigated the hallways with a map in my hands. However, when basketball tryouts arrived, I wasn't nervous at all. Why? Because I had already experienced the most uncomfortable situations during my time with Tommy and the Atlanta Celtics. I internalized that mindset and used it as a crutch during challenging moments, always reminding myself that nothing would ever match the discomfort of those Celtics practices. I remember a classmate of mine telling me that I wouldn't make the 9th grade team. I was laughing inside because he had no idea who I was or what I was made of. I stayed humble because it allowed me not to have to live up to anything. I remember excelling in those tryouts and feeling so comfortable because I had put in the work beforehand. I had no reason to be nervous; I had already done the hard part. I don't know if they still do it, but if you made the team, your name would be on a certain paper at a certain time outside the locker room. I made it, and I felt like all that work had paid off. Now I had to prove myself even more.

During that year playing on the ninth-grade team, I performed exceptionally well. I went on to hit a game-winner in the championship game, leading us to the trophy. However, I never let the success get to my head. My work ethic remained unchanged because being a ninth-grade superstar wasn't what I wanted. I aspired to be like Kobe Bryant, so I ensured my systems and routines aligned with that description.

Once you achieve success, it's easy to become complacent. I avoid complacency by constantly seeking ways to improve through small and simple things. I call it the onecent.club mentality. If you put a penny in every single day and never look at the piggy bank, eventually, those pennies will add up to something. This has been my motto ever since leaving college, but I have lived it my whole life.

Finally, I'm starting to receive attention from colleges and entering my junior year. I have phone calls with colleges, and they send mail to my house. It's a fulfilling experience, but I have my sights set on offers from prestigious schools like Duke and Kentucky. At the time, I was considered a low-to-high-major recruit. The star ratings and external opinions are just noise that can either motivate you or inflate your ego. I use them as motivation and acknowledge the politics involved. I was a 2-3 star coming out of high school. Personally, I believe that if I had received excessive praise, my work ethic would not be as strong as it is now. It's crucial for young hoopers not to get too high or too low because people will say different things about you. The one thing that remains undefeated is the work—work in the gym, work in the classroom, work on your body. The work is undefeated and will never let you down.

During my junior year, I began taking official visits, and one of them was to Samford University, where I had a friend attending. I knew they were eager to have me, and the proximity to home made it even more appealing, as I could stay with my girlfriend. However, I advise young hoopers not to make life decisions solely based on their current relationships, as they often don't last. The visit went well, and I noticed on a board in one of their offices that I was their top option. Nevertheless, it's essential not to be fooled by coaches. While some are genuine, many are like used car salesmen, trying to secure commitments. Keep your guard up and remember that it's a business.

During the visit, you usually spend around 72 hours on campus. They show you all the facilities, including the training facility, cafeteria, study halls, and dorms. They try to sell you on their school. Be cautious of coaches putting other schools down, as they would likely do the same about you if you're not on their side.

Watch out for any coaches praising you too much because those are usually the ones who are the first ones to talk crap behind your back. After you see all the things at the school and meet with the counselors, you will play pick up with the team. The coaches aren’t allowed to watch, but believe me, they are somewhere watching. Every school does it.

When you are in that pick-up game, make sure you dog every player on that court, even if you don't want to go to that school. The reason is that this basketball world is small. You want everyone to know that you are that guy, and these coaches move jobs like musical chairs, so you never know, maybe that coach goes to your dream school.

After playing pick-up, you will usually go out to eat with the team. On these visits, you have a host who will take you out to parties and whatnot. Personally, I'm not a party person and don't drink or smoke, so I just had them take me back after playing some games and chilling at their apartment. You have to remember that this is a business trip, and you are being watched by everyone.

What do I mean by that? Okay, my host was my friend, and we played different positions. But if I'm your host and we play the same position, why would I say good things about you if you could potentially take my minutes?

“Yeah, Elijah, he likes to party and drink; he might be a distraction on the team.”

Just like the coaches, you have to keep these potential teammates at arm's distance because everything you are telling them is either getting back to the coach, or they are using it to their advantage. Just something to keep in mind when going on these recruiting trips or, I like to call them, business trips.

Finally, I committed to Samford University going into my senior year of high school, and I felt good about it. The coaches from Samford ended up coming to watch me in one game. I played bad. Well, I just didn't play assertively; I wasn’t the best player on the court. I was playing scared because I did not want to mess up and lose my scholarship. I was in a fixed mindset. Now I play assertively and live with the mistakes because that is how you learn faster.

After the game, my mom cussed me out, which I deserved. A few weeks later, the school asked if I was going to prep school after I played really well in a Christmas Tournament we had. We all knew it was a loaded question; the school did not want me anymore. I would be lying if I said it did not hurt, but my mom made it clear that we don’t go where we aren’t wanted. I decommitted and went to New Hampton School prep school. I was going to do a PG (Postgraduate) year, where this would be my fifth year of high school. I needed this more than anything, I later found out.

This was my first time away from home, and I was far, far away from home. Being away from home allowed me to find myself, especially spiritually. I gained a bigger testimony of my religion and whether I really wanted to play this game because I had one year to get all my offers back. I knew there was no chance I would go back to Samford after they had done me like that, but I was grateful for the adversity because it made me grow. Adversity will make you grow, so welcome it. Embrace it.

At prep school, I was playing against players like Donovan Mitchell and Davonte Graham, who later went on to go to the NBA.The league was highly competitive, and I formed some lifelong friendships there. When facing adversity, it's crucial to change your perspective and find the positive in every challenging situation. You might not immediately see the upside, but you'll understand it later.

After my first year where I earned freshman of the year, I decided to transfer from Elon University. I decided to transfer because I knew my growth would be limited here. I needed more of a challenge. While the coach wasn't happy, it's important to remember that coaches would leave for better opportunities if given the chance. Don't let them make you feel guilty for making the best decision for yourself—it's a business, after all.

During the transfer process, I considered BYU, Miami, and Butler. After visiting all three, I chose BYU because I wanted to be challenged and have a supportive fan base. Additionally, I wanted to grow beyond basketball. Due to NCAA rules, I had to sit out a year, which I used to improve my skills. Although it wasn't easy, I maintained a OneCentClub mentality—focused on consistent progress over time.

After two years at BYU, I decided to leave at the age of 23. Despite my good numbers, returning wouldn't boost my draft stock, and there were no NIL opportunities to monetize my name. I didn't want to risk further damage to my body without compensation, especially since I had been married for a year. I trained in Vegas at Impact for two months, working out twice a day alongside other dedicated individuals.

LEAVING BYU!!

I flew to various cities for NBA team workouts, treating each one as a job interview for my dream career. I always dressed professionally to show my dedication. These experiences were stressful but essential for personal growth. I went undrafted, which was disheartening, but I was signed by the 76ers for the summer league—a chance to showcase my skills to other teams and international scouts.

Working out for the Milwaukee Bucks!

Summer league situations are political and often prioritize drafted players. Playing time was limited, and it hurt my confidence, but I used the opportunity to work extra with the strength coach and refine my skills. I learned to maintain professionalism both on and off the court, knowing that impressions matter in the basketball world.

Day in the life of NBA summer league

After a long wait, I received a call from Israel's Eilat team. It was a perfect situation for me in a beach town, playing once a week with a pass-first point guard. My career was jump-started by playing with Avi Ben Chimol. Our first apartment wasn't ideal, but I embraced the positives and saw it as a stepping stone. I played well, made the first team in the league, and reached the final four.

That summer I signed with the Milwaukee Bucks to play in the summer league, but I had to leave within three days of returning home from a grueling 10-month-long season. It was another instance where adversity struck, but as I've mentioned before, I believe that something positive always emerges from such situations.

Perspective holds immense importance, not just in basketball, but in life as well. During my time with the Bucks, I performed reasonably well and had the opportunity to stay, but deep down, I didn't feel like it was the right timing for me. Consequently, I decided to join Maccabi TLV on a two year deal after coming close to signing with Partizan.

I returned to Israel, this time in Tel Aviv, where I had to prove myself once again. I had a good year, but unfortunately, the season was interrupted by the outbreak of COVID-19. The following year, I continued to play well, and that's when the Bucks approached me with a late offer to join their team.

I eagerly seized the opportunity and suddenly found myself in the NBA, playing for a playoff team with aspirations of winning an NBA championship. It was a surreal experience for me. Although I only played in one regular season game, where I scored 16 points, I was incredibly nervous because it was everything I had ever dreamt of—I was finally in the NBA.

Adversity struck again during the playoffs, as I didn't receive much playing time. However, I firmly believed that something positive would come out of this experience if I remained steadfast in my faith in my routines and systems that got me there.

What did that mean for me? Well, it meant taking advantage of one of the best sports science teams in the world, seeking guidance from the more experienced players, and establishing valuable connections. I truly believe that you reap what you sow and that your attitude plays a crucial role in shaping your outcomes.

We eventually won the NBA championship, and I couldn't help but shed tears of joy. The sacrifices made to reach this point were extraordinary, not just on my part, but also from everyone in my support system—from my mom who took me to practices when I was young to my wife who swiftly packed our house upon receiving a call, enabling us to travel across the world and live in an apartment with a moldy ceiling.

Shortly after winning the championship the next year, I was cut, but I was brought back on a training camp deal. I used this opportunity once again to work with the best sports science team in the world to get in shape for our next adventure. That next adventure turned out to be Anadolu Efes, where I joined the reigning Euroleague Champs. I had the chance to win another Euroleague Championship, and I did. Did adversity come my way? Yes, but everything is a matter of perspective. What was the lesson learned from facing adversity? With this mindset, you can achieve all your dreams, I promise.

Euroleague Final 4 in Serbia

To all the aspiring basketball players out there, your opportunity will come, but the question is, will you be ready for it? I promise you that if you adopt the OneCent.Club mentality, always remaining prepared for your moment, you will find success. Remember that with every adversity you face, there is a hidden positive aspect waiting to be discovered.

I hope that my story can instill hope in a community that often focuses solely on highlights.

Embrace the difficult times and concentrate on establishing small, consistent routines.

Believe in yourself, and you will achieve your goals!

With all that being said,

I want to help you guys to learn the things I wish I would have known at a younger age and remember to stay consistent™️

Don’t Miss Out

Limited Spots – Just 100 Hoopers! 🎯 

Secure Your Spot Now!

Reply

or to participate.